Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

July 21, 2014

The Honorable Mel Watt Director Federal Housing Finance Agency 400 7th Street SW Washington, DC 20024

Dear Director Watt:

We congratulate you on your confirmation as Director of the Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA). We share your commitment to greater investments in affordable housing and community economic development.

We write to request that you review the determination that the FHFA made on November 13, 2008 to temporarily suspend Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac's contributions to the Housing Trust Fund and Capital Magnet Fund.

As you know, the Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008 (HERA) requires Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac (the GSEs) to set aside "4.2 basis points for each dollar of the unpaid principal balance of its total new business purchases" to fund the Housing Trust Fund and Capital Magnet Fund. This was an important, hard-fought victory, as it provided a dedicated source of revenue for the construction and preservation of affordable housing for extremely low income families.

However, HERA also gave the Director of the FHFA the authority to temporarily suspend these contributions in certain circumstances. On November 13, 2008, then-Director of the FHFA James B. Lockhart III directed the GSEs to suspend the contributions to the Housing Trust Fund and Capital Magnet Fund, citing the financial instability at the GSEs during the fall of 2008. The GSEs have repaid all of the investment provided to them during the Great Recession.

We urge you to lift this temporary suspension and begin to follow the intent of Congress by contributing to the National Housing Trust Fund and the Capital Magnet Fund. The need for affordable rental housing and job and business investment in disadvantaged communities has only grown since the Great Recession.

We respectfully request that you review this matter soon and respond to our request.

Sincerely,

Keith Ellison Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grija Member of Congress

Member of Congress

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

ve Beadde yce Beatty Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Corrine Brown

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

K. Butterfield

Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline

Member of Congress



Elijah E. Cummings

Member of Congress

izabeth Esty

Aember of Congress

Michael E. Capuano Member of Congress

John C. Carney, Jr. Member of Congress

Matt Cartwright Member of Congress

Donna Christensen Member of Congress

Katherine Clark Member of Congress

Wm. Lacy Clay Member of Congress

John Convers. Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Member of Congress

anny K. Nania

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

John K. Delaney Member of Congress

Chaka Fattah Member of Congress

Alan Grayson Member of Congress

Al Green Member of Congress

Denny Heck

Jim Himes

Member of Congress

Rubén Hinojosa Member of Congress

Henry C. 'Hank' Johnson Jr. Member of Congress

miel J. Keel

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Member of Congress

ors Steven A. Horsford

Michael M. Honda Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Joseph P. Kennedy, III Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Barbara Lee

Member of Congress

John Lewis Member of Congress

tephen F. Lynch

Member of Congress

Patrick E. Murphy

Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Zea An

Member of Congress dwent

Peter Welch

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Alan S. Lowenthal Member of Congress

Mclarth

Doris O. Matsui Member of Congress

Carolyn McCarthy Member of Congress

Sermott

Jm McDermott Member of Congress

James P. McCovern Member of Congress

rge Miller Gwen Moore

Gregory Meeks Member of Congress

: Mwell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

C.H

Gary C. Peters Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

anice D. Schakowsky

Member of Congress

George Miller Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Ed Perlmutter Member of Congress

Charles B. Rangel Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Richard M. Nolan Member of Congress

Collin C. Peterson

Member of Congress

Cedric L. Richmond Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rush Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Bobby Scott Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress

sten Sinema Louise Slaughter

José E. Serrano Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

mlear

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Shin Tetas

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Karen Bass Member of Congress

Takan

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Chr.

Judy Chu Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

auro osa

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

Xavjer Becerra Member of Congress